Article submitted by Delta Driving School
If you choose to use marijuana for recreational purposes in the state of California, you also need to know the consequences if you choose to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence. In fact, in California, marijuana and alcohol are both subject to the same consequences.
Even prescription marijuana use is prohibited if you will be operating a motor vehicle. And, it doesn’t matter if you only have the smallest traces of marijuana in your system. If you are arrested, and if THC (tetrahydrocannabinol, the chemical that causes most of marijuana’s psychological effects) is found in the issued blood or urine test, it will be determined that you were driving under the influence.
The penalties for driving under the influence in California
If you are pulled over, arrested, and convicted of driving under the influence or marijuana, you will be subject to one or all of the below penalties:
Suspension of driver’s license – Since the state issues drivers’ licenses, it also has the right to revoke them. If you are arrested for driving under the influence, you are subject to admin per se suspension as soon as you’re arrested, and potentially further suspension, if and when convicted.
Time in jail – This can start at two days, and can go up to six months. For repeat offenses, this can also mean time in prison.
Mandatory attendance of DUI school – You will be subject to a DUI school term determined by the court, which you must pay for out of pocket.
Fines and penalties – Fines can start at $1,800 and go up from there. For multiple offenses, this can be over $15,000.
About the Author:
Delta Driving School is a Driving School in Highland Park CA. They offer driving lessons. If you are in the area and looking for lessons, make sure to contact them.